← All states

Tennessee

TNWeak
?
Days notice (electric)
?
Days notice (gas)
Winter moratorium
Medical exemption

What to do today

If you have a shutoff notice, the date on it is the one that matters. These steps work best in this order.

  1. Call your utility before the date on your notice

    Ask for a payment plan or a deferred payment arrangement. Most states require your utility to offer one, and asking before the date is what keeps your service on. The number is on your bill.

  2. Apply for energy assistance

    LIHEAP helps with utility bills and does not have to be paid back. Call the national referral line on 1-866-674-6327 weekdays 9am to 7pm Eastern, or visit energyhelp.us.

  3. Dial 211 for local help

    211 is free and connects you to local funds for utilities, rent and food. Some local agencies can pay a utility directly to stop a shutoff.

  4. Ask about medical certification

    Tennessee recognises medical protections. If anyone in your home has a serious illness or relies on powered medical equipment, a note from a doctor can delay a shutoff. Ask your utility for the form today, because it usually has to be back within days.

  5. Contact the regulator if your utility will not work with you

    tn.gov handles complaints against regulated utilities in Tennessee. Filing one can pause a disconnection while it is looked at.

Electric Shutoff Rules

Regulatory notice requiredNot regulated / varies
Reconnection fee$33 to $58 standard, at 4 of 5 utilities below
Seasonal and weather protections: No statewide winter moratorium. TPUC has limited jurisdiction over electric utilities — most Tennessee electricity is supplied by TVA distributors, municipal utilities, and electric cooperatives not under TPUC. Some municipal utilities voluntarily suspend disconnections when temperature forecast drops below 32°F, but this is not statewide or mandated. Standard disconnection notice days not confirmed from TPUC primary source — listed as null.

Major Utilities

Memphis Light, Gas and Water (MLGW)

Memphis and Shelby County, Tennessee; a TVA local power distributor (municipal division of the City of Memphis), outside Tennessee Public Utility Commission retail jurisdiction

Section 115.20 suspends it in extreme heat or cold
MLGW is a TVA local power distributor operated by the City of Memphis, not an investor-owned utility
The Tennessee Public Utility Commission's own published List of Electric Utilities names only Appalachian Power Company, Entergy Arkansas, LLC and Kingsport Power Company, so MLGW is outside TPUC retail jurisdiction and is governed by its own Board-approved policy rather than the statewide 7-day TPUC notice rule
MLGW's 2025 Customer Care Policy Manual (effective June 1, 2025), Section 113.00, says MLGW mails a written notice of intent to disconnect approximately two business days after the bill's due date
No flat notice period is stated anywhere in the manual, so notice_days is null
The manual's own example timelines (Exhibit C, 'Timeline for Residential B-Rated and General Power Customers') count in workdays: bill rendered Day 1, due Day 12, late fees Day 13, disconnection notice mailed Day 14, first metered service (usually electric) disconnected Day 25 - an 11-workday gap in that example only, not a rule, and not recorded as a day count
Section 115.00 suspends disconnection Dec
1-Mar
1 for qualifying customers 60+ or receiving SSA disability benefits
Section 115.10 defers disconnection Dec
15-Jan
Reconnection fee:$58.00 residential reconnection charge for delinquent accounts (any combination of electric, gas and/or water), for same-day or next-day reconnection of service, per MLGW's Common Schedule of Charges (2026)
Assistance Programs

MLGW's own Customer Care Policy Manual describes a Payment Arrangement program, a two-part Extended Due Date Payment option, a Deferred Payment Plan (DEFB), and a Winter Moratorium suspending disconnection for qualifying senior (60+) or Social-Security-disability customers Dec. 1-Mar. 1.

Nashville Electric Service (NES)

Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee; a TVA local power distributor (municipal utility) outside Tennessee Public Utility Commission retail jurisdiction

7-day notice
NES is a TVA local power distributor (a department of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County), not an investor-owned utility, and it is absent from the Tennessee Public Utility Commission's own published List of Electric Utilities, so the statewide TPUC 7-day rule does not bind it
NES's own Customer Relations Policies manual (Approved 11/2025), Section 1.16, lists among the grounds on which NES may discontinue service: 'Nonpayment of bills or deposits upon seven (7) days' notice to customer.' That is NES's own policy, matching the state standard by choice rather than by TPUC compulsion
Section 1.10(3) separately provides that an account interrupted for non-payment that remains unpaid after seven (7) days will be terminated outright, the deposit applied and a final bill issued
The manual states days, not working days
Reconnection fee:$33.00 residential reconnect at the meter after cut-off for non-payment during business hours (weekdays 6:00 AM-10:00 PM, Saturday 7:00 AM-5:00 PM); $175.00 for residential and commercial reconnects at all other hours; reconnects performed at the pole are $250.00 business hours / $365.00 all other hours, per NES's Schedule of Fees and Charges, Section 7.0 (Modified October 2023)
Assistance Programs

Project Help, administered by NeedLink Nashville, lets customers add $1 or more to their monthly payment to help low-income customers with energy costs (Sec. 4.6); a Life Support / Critical Referral account coding that gives those accounts special handling prior to disconnection (Sec. 4.2); and Third Party Notification, under which NES mails a copy of the bill to another person or agency (Sec. 4.3) - all in NES's own Customer Relations Policies manual.

Knoxville Utilities Board (KUB)

Knoxville and parts of surrounding East Tennessee counties; a TVA local power distributor (an independent board of the City of Knoxville) outside Tennessee Public Utility Commission retail jurisdiction

KUB is a TVA local power distributor governed by its own Board, not the Tennessee Public Utility Commission, and it does not appear on TPUC's own published List of Electric Utilities
KUB's Electric Division Service Procedures (January 2025), Section 8.1.1, set a two-step schedule rather than a fixed notice period: (a) a termination-of-service notice is included on the customer's next bill after the account becomes delinquent, delivered by mail or electronically, and (b) on the expiration date printed in that notice a KUB representative delivers a further notice at the premises giving the customer a one (1) day termination notice, after which service may be terminated immediately
Because the interval between the billed notice and disconnection depends on the customer's own billing cycle, no single day count exists and notice_days is null rather than estimated
Section 8.1.8 allows termination to be suspended in extreme weather (above about 92F or below 32F)
Reconnection fees are from the Service Order Charges and Fees schedule in the same document
Reconnection fee:$40.00 residential reconnection during business hours; $80.00 residential reconnection outside business hours (any combination of electric, gas and/or water), per KUB's Electric Division Service Procedures, January 2025
Assistance Programs

Project Help, a donation-funded heating-assistance program, and a bill round-up option supporting weatherization for low-income households (both described on KUB's own Bills & Payments page); a Levelized Billing Plan and the budget payment plan at Service Procedures Sec. 6.4; special counseling for customers in hardship or emergency circumstances and the Medical Priority Program, which postpones termination ten (10) days from the scheduled date on a certified Medical Necessity Form (Sec. 8.1.2).

EPB (Electric Power Board of Chattanooga)

Chattanooga and surrounding Hamilton County, Tennessee; an independent board of the City of Chattanooga and TVA local power distributor, outside Tennessee Public Utility Commission retail jurisdiction

5-day notice
EPB is a TVA local power distributor operated as an independent board of the City of Chattanooga, not an investor-owned utility, and it does not appear on the Tennessee Public Utility Commission's own List of Electric Utilities, so the statewide TPUC rule does not bind it
EPB's own Schedule of Electric Rules and Regulations (Revised August 2021), under 'Termination of Service by EPB', states that 'Service may not be discontinued except after giving to the Customer five (5) days prior written notice and including in the notice EPB contact information and procedures to dispute the reason for discontinuance'
the billing section separately says EPB may discontinue service 'upon five (5) days written notice' once a bill is unpaid
Five days, not five working days
EPB's own billing FAQ describes the practical sequence differently - a reminder notice is mailed after the account goes delinquent and 'payment must be received by EPB Electric Power within seven days of this reminder notice in order to avoid disconnection' - so a customer may in practice see a longer window, but five days is the minimum EPB's tariff commits to
Disconnection for nonpayment is postponed when the Chattanooga forecast high exceeds 100F or is expected below 32F
The $35.00 reconnection fee is stated on EPB's own support FAQ, a separate document from the Rules and Regulations
Reconnection fee:$35.00 to reconnect after disconnection for nonpayment; Pre-Pay Power accounts reconnect without a fee once the prepay balance reaches $50 (per EPB's own customer FAQ)
Assistance Programs

EPB PowerShare, a fund providing temporary assistance to Hamilton County families with their electric bill, distributed by United Way; EPB Pre-Pay Power, which carries no late fees, no disconnect or reconnect fee and no security deposit; LIHEAP referral and a list of local Chattanooga financial-assistance agencies - all on EPB's own Payment Assistance Programs page.

Kingsport Power Company d/b/a AEP Appalachian Power

Kingsport and the surrounding area of Northeast Tennessee; an investor-owned electric utility and one of only three entities named on the Tennessee Public Utility Commission's own published List of Electric Utilities

7-day notice
Kingsport Power Company (d/b/a AEP Appalachian Power) is one of only three entities on the Tennessee Public Utility Commission's own published List of Electric Utilities, together with Appalachian Power Company and Entergy Arkansas, LLC
Tennessee's much larger electric utilities - MLGW, NES, KUB and EPB - are TVA local power distributors and municipal bodies that the same TPUC list omits, so they are outside TPUC retail jurisdiction
As a TPUC-jurisdictional electric utility, Kingsport Power is subject to Tenn
R. & Regs
1220-04-04-.19(2)(a)3, which requires that 'the date of the proposed termination by the utility shall be at least seven (7) days after the utility sends the notice by first class mail'
the rule is current, its history showing amendments filed 1987 and October 2000 and no repeal
Seven calendar days, running from mailing, not from receipt
No current approved Kingsport Power tariff sheet could be fetched: appalachianpower.com serves its Tennessee rate pages as a JavaScript shell with no extractable text and its linked Tennessee tariff PDFs return 404
The only reconnection figures reachable are from Consumer Advocate direct testimony in TPUC Docket No
21-00107 (filed December 2021), which states the then-current charge to reconnect service was $50.00 and that the company proposed reducing it to $20.00 for advanced meters and raising it to $75.00 for traditional meters
Because that is contested testimony rather than an approved tariff, and no order setting the final figure was reachable, reconnection_fee is null
No Tennessee bill-assistance program could be confirmed on a primary source for this utility, so assistance_programs is null rather than naming an unverified one

Gas Shutoff Rules

Regulatory notice requiredNot regulated / varies
Reconnection fee$40 to $65 standard, at 3 of 3 utilities below

Major Utilities

Spire Tennessee Inc. (formerly Piedmont Natural Gas Company, Inc.)

Nashville and Middle Tennessee. The Tennessee gas operations formerly certificated to Piedmont Natural Gas Company, Inc. are now tariffed under the Spire Tennessee Inc. name; documents and customer-facing pages still appear under the Piedmont Natural Gas brand at piedmontng.com.

7-day notice
Service will not be terminated in any 24-hour period, measured from 8:00 am on the planned termination date, when the National Weather Service forecast low is 32F or below, and termination is delayed thirty (30) days on written certification by a physician, public health officer or social service official that it would worsen an existing medical emergency
Its current Tennessee Service Regulations are filed under the name Spire Tennessee Inc., effective April 1, 2026, and hosted on piedmontng.com
TPUC's own published List of Gas Utilities still names 'Piedmont Natural Gas Co.', so the two names should be read as the same regulated business
The joint application in TPUC Docket No
25-00074 asked the Commission to transfer Piedmont's authority to provide utility service in Tennessee to Spire Tennessee Inc., a newly formed Spire subsidiary, and asked for approval on or before March 1, 2026 so the transaction could close during the first quarter of 2026
the application is the source for the transfer, not for any particular closing date
On notice, the tariff does not state its own day count - it says 'Notice of termination of Service to the Customer will be provided by the Company in accordance with Commission Rules, Regulations and Orders', which is the statewide gas rule at Tenn
R. & Regs
1220-04-05-.18(2)(a)3: 'The date of the proposed termination by the utility shall be at least seven (7) days after the utility sends the notice by first class mail.' Seven calendar days from mailing
The tariff's separate right to terminate a customer more than twenty (20) days in arrears, counted from the date the bill was rendered, is an arrears threshold and not the notice period
Reconnection fee:$55.00 (February-August) or $85.00 (September-January) seasonal charge to turn a residential meter back on after a nonpayment disconnection or a seasonal turn-off, per Spire Tennessee's current Tennessee Service Regulations
Assistance Programs

Share the Warmth, which piedmontng.com describes as allowing 'Piedmont, our community partners and our customers to help families in need pay their energy bills', and an Equal Payment Plan that levels seasonal bill swings (both on the company's own site). The tariff itself commits the company, on request for help paying a bill, to give the customer a list of community agencies that provide aid and in some cases to offer alternative pay arrangements, and to send a copy of any termination notice to a third party the customer designates.

Chattanooga Gas Company

Hamilton and Bradley Counties, Tennessee (Chattanooga area); a Southern Company Gas subsidiary regulated by the Tennessee Public Utility Commission

7-day notice
Chattanooga Gas Company is on the Tennessee Public Utility Commission's own published List of Gas Utilities
Its TPUC-filed tariff (TPUC No. 2, Rules & Regulations, Fifth Revised Sheet No. 6, issued April 19, 2024 and effective September 1, 2024, carried in the July 2026 consolidated tariff package) states: 'If the Customer shall fail to pay bill after it has become delinquent, the Company may, seven (7) days after notice to the Customer, discontinue service and apply any deposit made by the Customer in liquidation of such bill.' Seven calendar days, consistent with the statewide gas rule at Tenn
R. & Regs
1220-04-05-.18
Residential bills are due about twenty-one (21) days from the billing date for cycle-billed customers, after which a 5% late charge applies and the account becomes delinquent
The same sheet sets the reconnection charge after a service-suspension notice for non-payment at $65.00 for a Residential Customer and $50.00 for other customers, and requires a deposit
Service will not be discontinued on a day, or a day preceding a day, when the company is not available to reconnect, nor during any 24-hour period measured from 8:00 am on the planned termination date when the National Weather Service forecast low is 32F or below
Reconnection fee:$65.00 for residential reconnection after a service-suspension notice for nonpayment; $50.00 for other (non-residential) customers, per Chattanooga Gas's TPUC-filed Rules & Regulations tariff
Assistance Programs

Shield of Warmth, which chattanoogagas.com describes as offering bill payment assistance grants to Chattanooga Gas customers who qualify; a Budget Plan (levelized billing) and a Deferred Payment Arrangement, both linked from the company's own Bill Payment Assistance pages.

Atmos Energy Corporation (Tennessee Division)

Outlying communities in West, Middle and East Tennessee, listed in the tariff's own Areas Served section as four areas: Union City and adjacent areas in Obion County; Columbia, Shelbyville, Lynchburg and Maryville-Alcoa in Maury, Bedford, Moore and Blount Counties; Franklin, Murfreesboro and Nolensville in Rutherford and Williamson Counties; and Johnson City, Elizabethton, Greeneville, Kingsport, Morristown and Bristol in Hamblen, Sullivan, Carter, Washington and Greene Counties. Atmos does not serve Nashville (Spire Tennessee/Piedmont) or Chattanooga (Chattanooga Gas).

7-day notice
Section 5.4(b) postpones physical termination for thirty (30) days when a physician, public health officer or social service official certifies in writing that it would aggravate an existing medical emergency, and 5.4(d) lets the customer designate a third party to receive a duplicate of any termination notice
Atmos Energy Corporation is on the Tennessee Public Utility Commission's own published List of Gas Utilities
Its Tennessee tariff (T.P.U.C
No. 1, General Rules and Regulations Sec
5.4(a), 5th Revised Sheet No
60, cancelling the 4th, issued January 29, 2024 and effective for bills rendered on and after March 1, 2024) states: 'Prior reasonable notice will be sent to a Customer informing of the date of any proposed termination of Gas Service unless such Customer takes appropriate action
The date of the proposed termination shall be at least seven (7) days after the Company sends the notice by first class mail.' Seven calendar days, running from mailing rather than receipt, matching the statewide gas rule at Tenn
R. & Regs
1220-04-05-.18
Section 5.3 on the same sheet sets an activation charge of $40 during normal business hours that 'will apply to all meter turn-ons at existing locations and all reconnections of Gas Service', with additional charges possible if after-hours service is requested
the tariff does not state an after-hours amount, so none is recorded
Reconnection fee:$40 activation charge during normal business hours, which the tariff applies to all meter turn-ons at existing locations and all reconnections of gas service; additional charges may apply if after-hours service is requested, but the tariff states no after-hours amount
Assistance Programs

The Tennessee tariff's Senior Citizen - Low Income Discount waives the customer charge and the activation charge for certified customers aged 65 or older with total household income of $12,000 or less per year (Rate Schedule 210). The General Rules also require the company, when postponing a termination for a certified medical emergency, to refer the customer to social service agencies and to supply the names of agencies providing assistance. No Atmos-run Tennessee hardship fund could be confirmed on a primary source: the only LIHEAP reference in the Tennessee tariff is an exclusion, making LIHEAP-funded residential customers ineligible for the voluntary SmartChoice Carbon Offset rider, and Atmos's national Sharing the Warmth page carries no Tennessee content.

Water Shutoff Rules

Regulatory notice requiredNot regulated / varies

Major Utilities

Tennessee-American Water Company

Chattanooga and Hamilton County, Tennessee, plus the separately tariffed Lookout Mountain, Elder Mountain, Suck Creek (Marion County) and Challet Village North (Sevier County) systems and territory in Lakeview and other unincorporated areas of northwest Georgia east of Rossville; an investor-owned water utility on the Tennessee Public Utility Commission's own List of Water and Waste Water Utilities.

7-day notice
Tennessee-American Water Company is the state's investor-owned water utility on TPUC's own published List of Water and Waste Water Utilities
Its TPUC-filed Rules and Regulations, Section 15.4(a) (Notice and procedure for Involuntary Disconnection), state that 'service to any Customer shall not be disconnected for a violation of any rule or regulation of the Company or for the nonpayment of a bill, except after seven (7) days prior written notice to such Customer.' Seven calendar days, matching the statewide water rule at Tenn
R. & Regs
1220-04-03-.19(1), which allows the customer 'at least seven (7) days following mailing' to comply
Section 15.4(b) limits actual disconnection to between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., and 15.4(c) bars disconnection on a day, or a day immediately preceding a day, when the company is not available to reconnect
The company's rate tariff (TPUC No
20, Original Sheet No
12, issued and effective January 21, 2025) sets a $30.00 disconnection-reconnection charge for non-payment, a $40.00 after-hours reconnection fee in addition to the standard charge, and a $92.00 meter-tampering penalty where a customer re-establishes service illegally
Nashville's Metro Water Services and MLGW's Memphis water division are municipal systems outside TPUC jurisdiction and are not covered here
Reconnection fee:$30.00 standard disconnection-reconnection charge for nonpayment, plus an additional $40.00 after-hours reconnection fee (TPUC No. 20, Original Sheet No. 12, effective January 21, 2025)
Assistance Programs

Project Water Help, an emergency assistance program created by Tennessee American Water, funded by customer donations added to the bill and distributed through United Way's 211 help line, serving customers in Hamilton, Sequatchie and Marion Counties in Tennessee and in northwest Georgia; plus a Bill Payment Arrangement Plan for paying a balance over time and free Budget Billing for eligible residential customers - all on the company's own Customer Assistance Programs page. (The company's earlier 'H2O Help to Others' branding is not the name used on its current Tennessee page, so it is not cited here.)

Medical & Vulnerable Household Exemptions

30-day medical postponement when a licensed medical professional certifies that termination would be especially dangerous to the health of a household member. Applies under TPUC rules to utilities within its jurisdiction.

Low-Income Protections

LIHEAP available through Tennessee DHS. Tennessee's utility landscape is unusual — most electric service is provided by TVA-affiliate distributors (EPB, Memphis Light Gas & Water, etc.) with their own policies.

Your State Regulator

Data last verified: 2026-09-22. Rules may change — verify with your state regulator.